Hooked Creationz

Bookmarks! Toys! Accessories! And More!!!

NICU Challenge – Revised (Blankets and other baby things)

In a previous post I mentioned that I have joined the Sunset Family Living Annual NICU Challenge. I had a stroke of genius to contact my local hospital and inquire about in-kind donations before starting to make boat-loads of hats. Guess what? They don’t accept any more hats as they have more than they know what to do with. This sort of put a dampen on my excitement to make those cute little hats from the patterns provided by Sunset Family Living for this challenge.

Upon further inquiry I was told that they accept baby blankets for NICU babies and also baby shoes to be sold in the gift-shop for fundraising. So I made my first ever baby blanket while watching a few episodes of Bones. The hospital’s only requirement was for it to measure 25″ by 25″, be in a colour other than green or yellow (something to do with these colours reflecting onto the babies’ faces and making them look like they have a skin disease or are aliens), and be more tightly knit rather than loose and loopy.

20141211_143052

It was so fun to make and took so little time. I used a classic double crochet in the back loops only and this gave the material a lot of stretch and softness. The border is made up of double crochet clusters in a purple colour that goes perfect with the beige of the body of the blanket.

I’m looking for a different pattern for a second blanket.

I will also be donating a few pairs of baby shoes. I have some already completed.

IMG_5155 IMG_5158

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment